What's new

JF-17 Nose Redesign Feasibility?

ANG

Reaction score
Country
Azerbaijan
Hi, I have read in some other threads that the JF-17 Thunder's nose limits the size of its potential radar and hence the range of the radar. Having a longer range radar would be beneficial given some the airplanes this bird might be facing (Su-30, M2K, Mig-29/33).

I am not an engineer, so I was curious as to how feasible and easy it is to redesign the nose to accomadate a larger sized/diameter radar. If you notice the JF-17's nose is very angled/sloped downward. Is it possible to change the angle/slope in order to increase the nose cone diameter without obstructing the pilot's frontal view?

If you recall South Africa redesigned the nose of its Mirage III/V aircraft for the upgraded Cheetah aircraft. This allowed for a larger radar to be incorporated, but also necessitated a slight redesign as the center of gravity shifted.

Also, I kindly please request this discussion not be changed to comparing the JF-17 to any other aircraft or debating how good of an aircraft it is. Thanks!

1173123.jpg

Hi, I have read in some other threads that the JF-17 Thunder's nose limits the size of its potential radar and hence the range of the radar. Having a longer range radar would be beneficial given some the airplanes this bird might be facing (Su-30, M2K, Mig-29/33).

I am not an engineer, so I was curious as to how feasible and easy it is to redesign the nose to accomadate a larger sized/diameter radar. If you notice the JF-17's nose is very angled/sloped downward. Is it possible to change the angle/slope in order to increase the nose cone diameter without obstructing the pilot's frontal view?

If you recall South Africa redesigned the nose of its Mirage III/V aircraft for the upgraded Cheetah aircraft. This allowed for a larger radar to be incorporated, but also necessitated a slight redesign as the center of gravity shifted.