Pakistan's Nuclear Submarine Development | News and Discussions

we are happy india wasting her money on moon rather then UP bihar :D
Wrong! No wastage of money at all! We're figuring out a way to send clowns like Lalu Prasad Yadav and his ilk to the Moon on a one way ticket! So that's money well spent! :whistle:

Cheers!

I disagree! A nuclear sub has the capability to remain underwater indefinitely. This means that the subs can avoid detection as they would be lurking at a stand off distance weeks before D Day. They could then attack from a time and direction of their choosing, surprising enemy naval ASW assets.

But yes, you don't need nuclear subs to launch nukes. These can be launched from conventional subs too.

Cheers!

Nothing can remain underwater indefinitely. Human endurance is very definite. Rations and other supplies needed to support human life abroad submarines have a short shelf life and need to be resupplied frequently. Under the circumstances, AIP systems offer remarkable underwater endurance to submarines, though not on par with nuclear submarines, they greatly enhance the capability of conventional submarines. Traditionally, diesel/electric submarines are quieter and more noiseless than nuclear submarines which need special means to muffle reactor noise and this makes their concealment easier. My contention is that suitably adapted conventional submarines firing nuclear tipped cruise missiles are a very workable and inexpensive solution especially, for a navy that does not have large tracts of oceanic waters to patrol or long coastlines to defend.

:lol: half of your govt. enterprises are near to collapsed...

inflation is 14 % , and half of the territory is out the control of federal government. You frequently appear in failed country list. Walk the talk or keep shut up

ever you seen something positive in pakistan ? even when we was fastest growing 3 -4 years before you was bashing with same tune .we will have nuke sub like we have nukes and nuclear missiles to hit the head of enemy if she try to poke her nose inside pakistan . you guys bring your home story in every thread just go look bbc of yesterday 48% indians kids have anemia and short weight
?BBC Urdu? - ??? ???? - ??????:???? ?????? ??? ?????? ?? ?????

.how abut indian institutions ? go back look mirrior please AIR INDIA and others breath on tex money not from profits.which gov feed them after everytime they bankruppt ? same like pakistan did with our institutions
Air India | International Flight Carrier | SOS | Prime Minister

what if i show you the news indian economy is going down in last three months GDP become 6.1 now? report from today BBC?
?BBC Urdu? - ?????? - ??????? ????? ?? ????? ???? ?????

.what abut your own country gain control ?lolz show you that red map? 36 hours before you face terror act if you forget i remember you ? death of doctor ?
getresource.axd

what abut corruption in india? tell me when you sign deal without corruption were was the project without corruption ? you are posing stupid posts like you guys taking bath in honey and milk and pakistan is in stone age? i can see outside till today workers from all over india come here with 150$ salary per month and happy here atleast better food and health they got .

how many times you guys open threads on great gujrat economic power of india? go read before yesterday report say ? gujrat is one of those states which hold dirty villages and worse poors
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/world/2012/03/120301_children_poverty_weak_sz.shtml

seriously i start hating you after i daily read your hater posts .you force me to do it you know? after read these new i should start dreaming india is finished and failed? shame on you man .

paksitan can built one we sgould built necular ICM based submarien not the attack one :disagree:

are all agosta 90b are equiped with AIP system or only 1 subs

3rd one was fited from starting dear .so we order 2 more systems and instaled them on first and second agustas. all are AIP now

2 more MESMA AIP by 2011!

econd+Khalid-class+(Agosta+90B)+submarine+of+the+Pakistan+Navy+is+to+be+retrofitted+with+a+MESMA.jpg

second MESMA AIP going through testings before getting handover to PN

The Agosta submarines designed by DCN (now DCNS) of France, are currently in service with the French, Spanish and Pakistan navies. The Agosta 90B is an improved version featuring higher performance and a new combat system.

The new submarine features a higher level of automation, which has resulted in the ship's crew being reduced from 54 to 36. Other improvements include a new battery for increased range, a deeper diving capability of 350m resulting from the use of new materials including HLES 80 steel, and a reduced acoustic signature through the installation of new suspension and isolation systems.

Three Agosta 90Bs were ordered by the Pakistan Navy in September 1994. The first, Khalid (S137), was built at DCN’s Cherbourg yard and was commissioned in 1999. The second, Saad, assembled at Karachi Naval Dockyard, was launched in August 2002 and was commissioned in December 2003. The third, Hamza, which has been constructed and assembled in Karachi, was launched in August 2006 and was commissioned in September 2008.

"The Agosta 90B is an improved version of the Agosta submarine, featuring higher performance and a new combat system."Work on the vessel was halted for a time following a terrorist attack in May 2002, which killed 11 French engineers in Karachi. The third submarine is fitted with the MESMA air independent propulsion system.

The third submarine is being fitted with the MESMA air-independent propulsion system, which will be retrofitted to the first two. The MESMA AIP has successfully completed Pakistan Navy acceptance trials.

In March 2007, Pakistan placed an order with DCNS for the retrofit of the MESMA AIP to the first two Khalid Class submarines. The retrofit kits will be delivered to the Karachi dockyard in 2011.

Pakistan has been given a license by DCNS to offer commercial production of the submarines to potential customers.

SUBTICS command and control system

The Agosta 90B submarines are equipped with a SUBTICS fully integrated combat system. This is supplied by UDS International, a joint subsidiary of DCN International and Thales, now wholly owned by DCNS. SUBTICS processes signals from the submarine's sensors, determines the tactical situation by track association, fusion, synthesis, trajectory plotting and management and handles all weapon command and control functions.

Torpedoes

The Agosta 90B submarine is fitted with four bow 533mm torpedo tubes and has the capacity to carry a mixed load of up to 16 torpedoes and missiles. The submarine can be equipped with the ECAN F17 mod 2 torpedo, which is a wire-guided torpedo with active and passive homing to a range of 20km. The torpedo delivers a 250kg warhead to a depth of 600m.

MBDA Exocet SM39 missiles
The Agosta 90B is equipped with the torpedo tube launched MBDA (formerly EADS Aerospatiale) Exocet SM39 missile. Target range and bearing data is downloaded into the Exocet's computer.

The missile approaches the target area in sea-skimming mode using inertial navigation and then active radar homing. The missile travels at speeds over Mach 0.9, and has a range of 50km. Exocet has a 165kg high-explosive shaped-charge warhead.

Electronic warfare

The Agosta 90B submarines are equipped with the Thales DR-3000U radar warning receiver, operating in D to K bands.

The system uses a masthead antenna array with omnidirectional and monopulse directional antennae and a separate periscope warning antenna.

"The Agosta 90B submarine is fitted with four bow 533mm torpedo tubes and can carry up to 16 torpedoes and missiles."Sensor suite

The submarine is fitted with a Thales Underwater Systems (formerly Thomson Marconi Sonar) TSM 223 sonar suite, which includes bow-mounted sonar and towed sonar arrays, SAGEM periscopes and navigation system and Thales I-band navigation radar.

Propulsion systems

The Agosta 90B class submarines can be equipped with a diesel-electric propulsion system or the MESMA air-independent propulsion system. The diesel-electric system consists of two SEMT-Pielstick 16 PA4 V 185 VG diesels providing 3,600hp and a 2,200kW electric motor driving a single propeller.

A diesel-electrical submarine has to surface to periscope depth to recharge the batteries using the diesel engine, leading to increased risk of detection. The MESMA air-independent propulsion system, being fitted to the Agosta 90B submarines for Pakistan, allows the submarine to remain submerged three times longer.

The MESMA system consists essentially of a turbine receiving high-pressure steam from a combustion chamber, burning a gaseous mixture of ethanol and liquid oxygen. The Agosta 90B's performance remains the same in all other respects, except that the length increases from 67m to 76m and submerged displacement from 1,760t to 2,050t.

SSK Agosta 90B Class - Naval Technology

3rd one was fited from starting dear .so we order 2 more systems and instaled them on first and second agustas. all are AIP now

2 more MESMA AIP by 2011!

econd+Khalid-class+(Agosta+90B)+submarine+of+the+Pakistan+Navy+is+to+be+retrofitted+with+a+MESMA.jpg

second MESMA AIP going through testings before getting handover to PN

The Agosta submarines designed by DCN (now DCNS) of France, are currently in service with the French, Spanish and Pakistan navies. The Agosta 90B is an improved version featuring higher performance and a new combat system.

The new submarine features a higher level of automation, which has resulted in the ship's crew being reduced from 54 to 36. Other improvements include a new battery for increased range, a deeper diving capability of 350m resulting from the use of new materials including HLES 80 steel, and a reduced acoustic signature through the installation of new suspension and isolation systems.

Three Agosta 90Bs were ordered by the Pakistan Navy in September 1994. The first, Khalid (S137), was built at DCN’s Cherbourg yard and was commissioned in 1999. The second, Saad, assembled at Karachi Naval Dockyard, was launched in August 2002 and was commissioned in December 2003. The third, Hamza, which has been constructed and assembled in Karachi, was launched in August 2006 and was commissioned in September 2008.

"The Agosta 90B is an improved version of the Agosta submarine, featuring higher performance and a new combat system."Work on the vessel was halted for a time following a terrorist attack in May 2002, which killed 11 French engineers in Karachi. The third submarine is fitted with the MESMA air independent propulsion system.

The third submarine is being fitted with the MESMA air-independent propulsion system, which will be retrofitted to the first two. The MESMA AIP has successfully completed Pakistan Navy acceptance trials.

In March 2007, Pakistan placed an order with DCNS for the retrofit of the MESMA AIP to the first two Khalid Class submarines. The retrofit kits will be delivered to the Karachi dockyard in 2011.

Pakistan has been given a license by DCNS to offer commercial production of the submarines to potential customers.

SUBTICS command and control system

The Agosta 90B submarines are equipped with a SUBTICS fully integrated combat system. This is supplied by UDS International, a joint subsidiary of DCN International and Thales, now wholly owned by DCNS. SUBTICS processes signals from the submarine's sensors, determines the tactical situation by track association, fusion, synthesis, trajectory plotting and management and handles all weapon command and control functions.

Torpedoes

The Agosta 90B submarine is fitted with four bow 533mm torpedo tubes and has the capacity to carry a mixed load of up to 16 torpedoes and missiles. The submarine can be equipped with the ECAN F17 mod 2 torpedo, which is a wire-guided torpedo with active and passive homing to a range of 20km. The torpedo delivers a 250kg warhead to a depth of 600m.

MBDA Exocet SM39 missiles
The Agosta 90B is equipped with the torpedo tube launched MBDA (formerly EADS Aerospatiale) Exocet SM39 missile. Target range and bearing data is downloaded into the Exocet's computer.

The missile approaches the target area in sea-skimming mode using inertial navigation and then active radar homing. The missile travels at speeds over Mach 0.9, and has a range of 50km. Exocet has a 165kg high-explosive shaped-charge warhead.

Electronic warfare

The Agosta 90B submarines are equipped with the Thales DR-3000U radar warning receiver, operating in D to K bands.

The system uses a masthead antenna array with omnidirectional and monopulse directional antennae and a separate periscope warning antenna.

"The Agosta 90B submarine is fitted with four bow 533mm torpedo tubes and can carry up to 16 torpedoes and missiles."Sensor suite

The submarine is fitted with a Thales Underwater Systems (formerly Thomson Marconi Sonar) TSM 223 sonar suite, which includes bow-mounted sonar and towed sonar arrays, SAGEM periscopes and navigation system and Thales I-band navigation radar.

Propulsion systems

The Agosta 90B class submarines can be equipped with a diesel-electric propulsion system or the MESMA air-independent propulsion system. The diesel-electric system consists of two SEMT-Pielstick 16 PA4 V 185 VG diesels providing 3,600hp and a 2,200kW electric motor driving a single propeller.

A diesel-electrical submarine has to surface to periscope depth to recharge the batteries using the diesel engine, leading to increased risk of detection. The MESMA air-independent propulsion system, being fitted to the Agosta 90B submarines for Pakistan, allows the submarine to remain submerged three times longer.

The MESMA system consists essentially of a turbine receiving high-pressure steam from a combustion chamber, burning a gaseous mixture of ethanol and liquid oxygen. The Agosta 90B's performance remains the same in all other respects, except that the length increases from 67m to 76m and submerged displacement from 1,760t to 2,050t.

SSK Agosta 90B Class - Naval Technology
good article
thanks for info
i hope soon all our subs will be equiped with MESMA air-independent propulsion system

:rofl: higher poverty rate than the whole of africa, 6000 children die every day due to hunger, 41 seperatist groups, hindu-muslim riots, human rights issues in kashmir, human rights issues with BSF forces in Bangladesh... WITH A HUGE ECONOMY. BAMMM!
half the territory out of government control? are you stupid? have you realized that all of our territory is in our control. and if you are referring to FATA, it's caled FEDERALLY ADMINISTERED TRIBAL AREAS. so it's federally administered. you haven't even been to pak so please stop spewing BS. lol

why did you stop with that add more to the list coz jokes on you L:cheesy:

You dont have to surprise other. If you have a N sub it means that in the future the fear of mutual annailation if one pulls the trigger increases and hence no war. Good for both.

@imran
kis chutiye ne ye map banaya hai haryana, uttarakhand, kerala tamil nadu, bangalore ,purey south india , north bihar, UP mein naxali ha ha. :lol: :lol: oh bhains ki taang, Gujarat Rajasthan mein bhi naxali :lol:
the guy forgot to paint lakshadweep and andaman nicobar island :rofl:

imran bhai main har hafte do hafte bangalore chennai ya bangalore hyderabad ke liye night journey karta hoon aur har bar hamare train ya bus pe naxaliyon ka hamla hota hai. :rofl:

MS Paint se to main bhi kuch bhi paint kar sakta hoon. :D